FRIDAY FIVE: NEW YEAR, SAME ME.

by brittaneyelise

LAST YEAR VS THIS YEAR VS NEXT YEAR

I feel like there are a few different types of people when it comes to New Year’s resolutions: those that make them and stick to them, those that make them and break them right away, those that don’t bother or believe in them, and those that fall somewhere in-between. Basically, we’ve all kind of resorted to finding our own path in this department that works for us! I’m the latter of the list.

Although time is irrelevant at its core, as a society we rely on calendars to measure it. It’s a great tool to reference where you’re at with your life goals / everything that attributes to them, so I like to think of calendars as simple check-in tools.

Processed with VSCO with a6 presetProcessed with VSCO with a6 preset

I appreciate so many of you that reach out to me seeking guidance or simply stating admiration, so to show my gratitude, I wanted to take a moment to share a little bit of my process/insight. And what better time to do it than at the start of a fresh new year.

Here’s to hoping to spread a little motivation through these 5 areas of focus!

1. REFLECT: 2016 was a huge year of growth, both professionally and personally for me, and taking a few moments during the awkward “what-day-is-it-week” between Christmas and NYE made me value the time to stop, look back, and thank the Universe for guiding me through an obscene amount of success and accomplishment over the past year. I always feel that beginning a conversation with ‘thank you’ is a good thing. Smile and give thanks for whatever pinnacles you’ve reached, whether big or small, whether in personal strength, in your relationships, in your career, or otherwise.

2. GO INWARD: Dig a little deeper. Outline your strengths and weaknesses. When this year did you feel your best? What didn’t you enjoy? Where could you improve? What are you personally missing in life? Be honest with yourself, even if it’s uncomfortable. Admit what you could REALLY work on and how that might benefit your bigger picture.

3. ESTABLISH THE NEW: All you really need is one new goal or resolution. Two or three? Even better. And none need to be earth-shattering. Instead of making your goals out of monetary gain or checklist-crossing satisfaction, try to make your goal(s) or resolutions based on the feeling of joy or happiness that it might bring you. Only commit to a goal if it will add actual value to your soul. My main for this year?: becoming a better listener. I think this is so important and something I’ve been aware that I think I could totally improve on — and when I do(!), you best believe it’s not only going to be a huge benefit to my life but others’ as well — personally and professionally. I’m really looking forward to working on this one.

4. SURRENDER: Give it up to the Universe, put it in God’s basket, let that shit go. Whatever you believe in, know that there is a higher power of love working toward what you want if you just get out of your own way, surrender, and trust that it will work out for you. You’ve gotta get out of your own head at some point or you’ll hinder your own success.

5. DAILY: Be conscious of your new hope(s), ever single day. Don’t let the whole year slip away by getting caught up in routine — be kind to yourself and make yourself proud. Continue to live your day-to-day wholeheartedly in faith. You got this.

Processed with VSCO with a6 preset

Take the life lessons you’ve been given and feed your body and mind to accomplish fresh goals. Most importantly, be you. There is only one soul like yours in our entire system; take your time to value and honor it.

Those who look outside DREAM; those who look inside AWAKE.
BElight. BElove. BEyoutiful.

XO
BE.

POLKA-DOT BLOUSE: SHE-IN

WHITE SHREDDED JEANS: GRLFRND DENIM

BLACK/TAN SLIDES: DOLCE VITA

BLACK FRINGE TOTE: SAINT LAURENT

BLACK AVIATORS: RAY-BAN

GOLD CHAIN CHOKER NECKLACE: ELLE A

